iradina logo

iradina

ion range and damage in nanostructures
iradina logo
Image: Christian Borschel

3D Monte Carlo Simulation of Ion Beam Irradiation of Nanostructures

iradina is a computer program for the simulation of ion beam irradiation of nanostructures. iradina simulates the transport of energetic ions through solid matter by calculating binary collisions and employing a Monte Carlo (MC) transport algorithm. Here are some of the key features of iradina:

3D targets

The target in iradina is defined by a three-dimensional rectangular grid, allowing almost arbitrary target geometries. This is in contrast to other popular programs like for example TRIM, where simulation is limited to flat / bulk targets. iradina was originally developed to calculate the distribution of implanted ions and of implantation defects in semiconductor nanowires.

Free software

iradina is free software. It is licensed under the GPL. It is open source and you can adapt the program to your needs, as long as you respect the GPL. iradina is written in plain c and can be used on different platforms (with one restriction: IEEE 754 conform bit representation of single precision floats is required - but don't worry, most of today's systems do conform). iradina has been tested thoroughly on windows and linux systems.

Optimization

iradina is optimized for speed. Table-lookup functions are used instead of calculating electronic stopping and scattering angles upon each collision. The lookup-functions with a very fast indexing mechanism are taken from the free corteo program, which is a program to calculate accurate ion beam analysis spectra by a full binary collision simulation of the ion transport processes.

Flexibility

iradina is non-interactive: it can run in the background, do work for other programs and can be run from scripts for example to perform huge numbers of different simulations automatically. There is a graphical user interface (iraUI) which is independent from iradina itself. iraUI is interactive and helps the user by automatically generating the input files for running iradina. Furthermore, iraUI includes a plotting tool to analyze the simulation results.

What

iradina

can do:

  • simulate ion beam irradiation of solid targets with ion energies from a few eV to a several MeV
  • represent 3d target geometries within a rectangular grid of several million cells
  • output various results: distribution of implanted ions, recoils, different types of defects, ion trajectories, recoil trajectories, final ion positions, vectors and energy of transmitted ions, distribution of deposited energy
  • calculate sputtering yields in nanostructures, global and local (per cell)

What

iradina

cannot do:

  • simulate irradiation with electrons, quarks, photons, multi-atom clusters, or any other particle not being a single atom with an atom number from 1 to 92
  • dynamically change the target composition due to irradiation (...work on this is in progress...). If you need that, look for TRI3DYN.
  • simulate ion beam deposition with small ion energies (below a few 10 eV)
  • simulate channeling effects or any other effect related to the crystallinity of the target.
  • simulate dynamic annealing
  • temperature dependent effects (T=0 at all times)
  • ... many other things that would be interesting ...

Warning:

Results from iradina have been verified by experiments on various examples (see below). However, in some cases iradina may produce very unrealistic results having nothing to do with physical reality! You should never trust the results from any physics simulation code! When using results from simulations you should at least basically understand how the simulation works and make sure that all assumptions made in the code about the physical system are fulfilled.

The scientific background of iradina is described here.

Download

You need two things in order to run iradina:

  1. Corteo database files
  2. Iradina executable file

The database files can be downloaded from here, from the Corteo website or can be build from scratch using corteo. The database files must be placed in a subdirectory called "data" within the directory of the iradina executable. Read the manual for more details.

Windows users can download the precompiled iradina executables. For all other operating systems, download the source code and compile it (it is written in c and can be compiled with the gcc.) For details, read the manual.

Iradina is written in plain c and is released under the GNU general public license.

Download:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/iradina/

User Interface:

iradina itself has no user interface at all, which allows it to do background work for other programs. However, a graphical user interface exists for Windows users (.net framework 3.5 required). Technically, it is independent from iradina and it does not include iradina. It prepares all neccessary input files and starts iradina, and it can be used to analyze results generated by iradina. The user interface currently is freeware but not open source.

The graphical user interface iraUI can be downloaded here [zip, 474 kb] de.

Application examples

This is a list of selected projects and tasks where iradina has been used to simulate ion beam irradiation. If you would like your example to appear on this page, please let us know.

 

Application Description Publication
Ion beam doping of nanowires

iradina simulations are used to determine the distribution of implanted ions and of implantation defects in semiconductor nanowires. Conventional bulk simulations cannot be used to obtain accurate results.

  • A new route toward semiconductor nanospintronics: highly Mn-doped GaAs nanowires realized by ion-implantation under dynamic annealing conditions
    C. Borschel, M.E. Messing, M. T. Borgstrom, W. Paschoal Jr, J. Wallentin, S. Kumar, K. Mergenthaler, K. Deppert, C. M. Canali, H. Pettersson, L. Samuelson, and C. Ronning
    Nano Letters11, 3935 (2011)
  • Nano-X-ray Absorption Spectroscopy of Single Co Implanted ZnO Nanowires
    J. Segura-Ruiz, G. Martínez-Criado, M.H. Chu, S. Geburt, C. Ronning
    Nano Letters 11, 5322 (2011)
Sputtering effects in ion beam doping of nanowires

The enhanced sputtering of nanowires during ion beam doping is investigated experimentally and compared to calculations performed with iradina.

  • Enhanced sputtering and incorporation of Mn in implanted GaAs and ZnO nanowires
    A. Johannes, S. Noack, W. Paschoal Jr., S. Kumar, D. Jacobsson, H. Pettersson, L. Samuelson, K. A. Dick, G. Martinez-Criado, M. Burghammer
    J. Phys. D: Appl. Phys. 47, 394003 (2014)
Ion beam induced bending and alignment of nanowires

Ion bean induced bending and alignment of nanowires can be induced by inhomogeneous defect distributions. In order to understand the bending mechanisms, detailed defect distributions need to be known. They can be obtained using iradina.

  • Permanent bending and alignment of ZnO nanowires
    C. Borschel, S. Spindler, D. Lerose, A. Bochmann, S.H. Christiansen, S. Nietzsche, M. Oertel and C. Ronning
    Nanotechnology 22, 185307 (2011)
Ion implantation profiles in MacPSi solar cells

Macroporous silicon (MacPSi) is a promising material for solar cell absorber layers due to its outstanding light trapping properties. In this work, ion implantation was applied to selectively dope the outer surfaces of a free-standing MacPSi layer to fabricate a solar cell. Iradina was used to understand the influence of the pore geometry on the distribution of the implanted dopant atoms.

  • Thin crystalline macroporous silicon solar cells with ion implanted emitter
    Marco Ernst, Henning Schulte-Huxel, Raphael Niepelt, Sarah Kajari-Schröder, and Rolf Brendel
    Energy Procedia 38, 910 (2013)
Damage and ion profiles in ion beam irradiated Bi nanowires

Modification of the structure and morphology of Bi nanowires. For low fluences, the main effect was a slight roughening of the originally smooth surface and the appearance of a damaged zone at the wire edges. After a medium exposure depressions are seen, giving the wires a “wavy” morphology. At the largest fluence tested, the thickest nanowires present an amorphized structure, while the thinner wires collapse into large nanoparticles. The observed morphologic modifications are discussed considering sputtering and radiation induced surface diffusion effects.

Bi nanowires modified by 400 keV and 1 MeV Au ions
D.B. Guerra, S. Müller, M.P. Oliveira, P.F.P. Fichtner, R.M. Papaleo
AOP Advances 8, 125103 (2018)

Distributions of defects in irradiated nanowire solar cells in comparison to planar structures

The authors demonstrate that III–V nanowire-array solar cells have dramatically superior radiation performance relative to planar solar cell designs and show this for multiple cell geometries and materials, including GaAs and InP. Nanowire cells exhibit damage thresholds ranging from ∼10–40 times higher than planar control solar cells when subjected to irradiation by 100–350 keV protons and 1 MeV electrons. Using iradina simulations, they show that this improvement is due in part to a reduction in the displacement density within the wires arising from their nanoscale dimensions.

Radiation Tolerant Nanowire Array Solar Cells
P. Espinet-Gonzalez, et al.
ACS Nano xx, xxxxxx (2019)

Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the best practice club "Family in Higher Education Institutions"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page

iradina logo

iradina

ion range and damage in nanostructures
iradina logo
Foto: Christian Borschel

3D Monte Carlo Simulation von ionenbestrahlten Nanostrukturen

iradina ist ein Computerprogramm zur Simulation der Ionenstrahlbestrahlung von Nanostrukturen. Iradina simuliert den Transport von energetischen Ionen durch Festkörper, indem es binäre Kollisionen berechnet und einen Monte-Carlo (MC) Transportalgorithmus verwendet. Hier sind einige der wichtigsten Eigenschaften von iradina:

3D Probengeometrie

Die Probengeometrie wird in iradina durch ein dreidimensionales rechteckiges Gitter definiert, das nahezu beliebige Zielgeometrien zulässt. Dies steht im Gegensatz zu anderen gängigen Programmen, wie z. B. TRIM, bei denen die Simulation auf flache Proben beschränkt ist. iradina wurde ursprünglich entwickelt, um die Verteilung von implantierten Ionen und von Implantationsdefekten in Halbleiternanodrähten zu berechnen.

Frei verfügbare Software

iradina ist eine frei verfügbare Software. Sie ist unter GPL lizensiert. Weiterhin ist der Code offen und das Programm darf individuellen Bedürfnissen angepasst werden, so lange die Regeln zu GPL eingehalten werden. iradina ist in ANSI C geschrieben und kann auf verschiedenen Plattformen verwendet werden (mit einer Einschränkung: IEEE 754-konforme Bitdarstellung von Single-Precision-Fließkommazahlen ist erforderlich - aber keine Sorge, die meisten heutigen Systeme sind konform). iradina wurde gründlich an Windows- und Linux-Systemen getestet.

Optimierung

iradina ist auf Geschwindigkeit optimiert worden. Tabellierte Werte werden bei jeder Kollision anstelle einer aufwendigen Berechnung der elektronischen Abbrems- und Streuprozesse verwendet. Die Werte bzw. Funktionen stammen zusammen mit einem sehr schnellen Indizierungsmechanismus  aus dem frei verfügbaren corteo Programm, das zur Berechnung von Ionenstrahlanalyse-Spektren eine vollständige binäre Kollisionssimulation der Ionentransportprozesse vollführt.

Flexibilität

iradina ist nicht interaktiv: es kann im Hintergrund ausgeführt werden, für andere Programme arbeiten und kann aus Skripts heraus ausgeführt werden, um z. B. eine große Anzahl verschiedener Simulationen automatisch auszuführen. Es existiert eine grafische Benutzeroberfläche (iraUI), die unabhängig von iradina ist. iraUI ist interaktiv und hilft dem Benutzer, indem es die Eingabedateien automatisch generiert, um iradina auszuführen. Darüber hinaus enthält iraUI Möglichkeiten zur Darstellung der Simulationsergebnisse.

Dies kann iradina leisten:

  • Die Simulation der Ionenbestrahlung von Festkörpern in einem Energiebereich von einigen eV bis hin zu mehreren MeV
  • Drei-dimensionale Probengeometrien mit bis zu einigen Millionen an rechteckigen Zellen
  • Ausgabe verschiedener Ergebnisse: Verteilung der implantierter Ionen, Recoils, und verschiedener Defekte, Ionenflugbahnen, Rückstoßbahnen, endgültige Ionenpositionen, Richtung und Energie der transmittierten Ionen, Verteilung der deponierten Energie
  • Berechnung der Zersteubungsraten (sputter yields) von Nanostrukturen, sowohl global als auch lokal pro Zelle

Dies kann iradina nicht leisten:

  • Die Simulation mit Elektronen, Quarks, Photonen, multi-atom Clustern, oder jegliche andere Partikel, die nicht Atome mit einer Massenzahl von 1 bis 92 sind.
  • Dynamische Simulationen mit einer sich ändernden Zielzusammensetzung der Probe. Hierfür existiert das TRI3DYN Programm.
  • Simulation der Deposition von Ionen mit geringen Energien unterhalb einiger 10 eV
  • Simulation von Gitterführungseffekten oder anderer Effekte, die durch eine Kristallinität der Probe hervorgerufen werden.
  • Simulation dynamischer Ausheil- und Temperatur-abhängiger Prozesse. Bei iradina gilt T=0 zu jedem Zeitpunkt.
  • ... und viele andere Dinge, die interessant sind ...

Warnung:

Die Ergebnisse von iradina wurden durch Experimente an verschiedenen Beispielen verifiziert (siehe unten). In einigen Fällen kann iradina jedoch sehr unrealistische Ergebnisse liefern, die nichts mit der physikalischen Realität zu tun haben! Sie sollten niemals den Ergebnissen eines physikalischen Simulationsprogrammes vertrauen! Bei der Verwendung von Ergebnissen aus Simulationen sollten Sie zumindest im Wesentlichen verstanden haben, wie die Simulation funktioniert, und sicherstellen, dass alle im Code enthaltenen Annahmen über das physikalische System erfüllt sind.

Der wissenschaftliche Hintergrund zum iradina Programm is hier zu finden.

Download

Es werden wesentlich zwei Dinge benötigt, um iradina zum Laufen zu bringen:

  1. Corteo Datenbank-Dateien
  2. Iradina Ausführungsdateien

Die Datenbank-Dateien können von der Corteo Webseite herruntergeladen werden, oder mittels corteo selbst erzeugt werden. Diese Datenbank-Dateien müssen in einem Unterordner "data" im iradina Hauptordner gespeichert werden. Weitere Details können im Handbuch nachgelesen werden.

Windows-Benutzer können die bereits kompilierten iradina Ausführungs-Dateien sich herunterladen. Für alle anderen Betriebssysteme ist es notwendig sich den originalen Code herunterzuladen und diesen dann zu kompilieren (der Code ist in C geschrieben und kann mit gcc kompiliert werden). Weitere Details können im Handbuch nachgelesen werden.

Iradina ist in C geschreiben und unter GNU general public license veröffentlicht worden. Weiterhin: alle Dateien, Handbücher und Dokumentationen sind in ENGLISCH.

Download:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/iradina/

Benutzeroberfläche:

iradina selbst hat keine Benutzeroberfläche, so dass es im Hintergrund für andere Programme arbeiten kann. Für Windows-Benutzer existiert jedoch eine grafische Benutzeroberfläche (.net Framework 3.5 erforderlich). Technisch ist es unabhängig von iradina und schließt iradina nicht ein. Es bereitet alle erforderlichen Eingabedateien auf, startet iradina und kann zur Analyse der von iradina generierten Ergebnisse verwendet werden. Die Benutzeroberfläche ist derzeit frei verfügbar, jedoch ist der Code nicht offen gelegt.

Die grafische Benutzeroberfläche iraUI kann hier herunter geladen werden [zip, 474 kb].

Anwendungsbeispiele

Dies ist eine Liste ausgewählter Projekte, bei denen iradina zur Simulation der Ionenstrahlbestrahlung verwendet wurde. Wenn Sie möchten, dass Ihre Anwendung auf dieser Seite erscheint, teilen Sie uns dies bitte mit.

Anwendung Beschreibung Publikation
Dotieren von Halbleiternanodrähten mit Ionenstrahlen

iradina-Simulationen wurden zur Bestimmung der Verteilung von implantierten Ionen und Defekten in Halbleiternanodrähten verwendet. Konventionelle Simulationen für Volumenproben konnten an dieser Stelle nicht verwendet werden, um genaue Ergebnisse zu erhalten.

  • A new route toward semiconductor nanospintronics: highly Mn-doped GaAs nanowires realized by ion-implantation under dynamic annealing conditions
    C. Borschel, M.E. Messing, M. T. Borgstrom, W. Paschoal Jr, J. Wallentin, S. Kumar, K. Mergenthaler, K. Deppert, C. M. Canali, H. Pettersson, L. Samuelson, and C. Ronning
    Nano Letters11, 3935 (2011)
  • Nano-X-ray Absorption Spectroscopy of Single Co Implanted ZnO Nanowires
    J. Segura-Ruiz, G. Martínez-Criado, M.H. Chu, S. Geburt, C. Ronning
    Nano Letters 11, 5322 (2011)
Zerstäubungseffekte beim Dotieren von Halbleiternanodrähten mit Ionenstrahlen

Eine überhöhte Zertäubungsrate wurde bei der Bestrahlung von Halbleiternanodrähten beobachtet und mit iradina Simulationen verglichen.

  • Enhanced sputtering and incorporation of Mn in implanted GaAs and ZnO nanowires
    A. Johannes, S. Noack, W. Paschoal Jr., S. Kumar, D. Jacobsson, H. Pettersson, L. Samuelson, K. A. Dick, G. Martinez-Criado, M. Burghammer
    J. Phys. D: Appl. Phys. 47, 394003 (2014)
Ionstrahlinduzierte Verbiegung und Ausrichtung von Halbleiternanodrähten

Ionenstrahlinduziertes Verbiegen und Ausrichten von Nanodrähten kann durch inhomogene Defektverteilungen induziert werden. Um die Biegemechanismen zu verstehen, müssen detaillierte Defektverteilungen bekannt sein. Diese können mit iradina bestimmt werden.

  • Permanent bending and alignment of ZnO nanowires
    C. Borschel, S. Spindler, D. Lerose, A. Bochmann, S.H. Christiansen, S. Nietzsche, M. Oertel and C. Ronning
    Nanotechnology 22, 185307 (2011)
Profile bei der Ionenimplantation in MacPSi Solarzellen

Makroporöses Silizium (MacPSi) ist aufgrund seiner hervorragenden Eigenschaften ein vielversprechendes Material für Solarzellen-Absorberschichten. In dieser Arbeit wurde eine Ionenimplantation angewendet, um selektiv die äußeren Oberflächen einer freistehenden MacPSi-Schicht zu dotieren, um eine Solarzelle herzustellen. iradina wurde verwendet, um den Einfluss der Porengeometrie auf die Verteilung der implantierten Dotierstoffatome zu verstehen.

  • Thin crystalline macroporous silicon solar cells with ion implanted emitter
    Marco Ernst, Henning Schulte-Huxel, Raphael Niepelt, Sarah Kajari-Schröder, and Rolf Brendel
    Energy Procedia 38, 910 (2013)
Schaden und Profile bei der Bestrahlung von Bi Nanodrähten

Modifizierung der Struktur und Morphologie von Bi-Nanodrähten nach Bestrahlung mit Au Ionen und einer Energie von 400 keV und 1 MeV Au. Für niedrige Fluenzen treten leichte Aufrauhungen der ursprünglich glatten Oberfläche sowie beschädigten Zonen an den Drahtkanten auf. Nach einer Exposition mit mittleren Fluenzen sind Vertiefungen und eine "wellige" Morphologie zu sehen. Bei der größten getesteten Fluenzen weisen die dicksten Nanodrähte eine amorphisierte Struktur auf, während die dünneren Drähte zu großen Nanopartikeln auseinanderfallen. Die beobachteten morphologischen Modifikationen werden unter Berücksichtigung von Sputter- und strahlungsinduzierten Oberflächendiffusionseffekten diskutiert.

Bi nanowires modified by 400 keV and 1 MeV Au ions
D.B. Guerra, S. Müller, M.P. Oliveira, P.F.P. Fichtner, R.M. Papaleo
AOP Advances 8, 125103 (2018)
Verteilung der Defekte in bestrahlten Nanodraht-Solarzellen im Vergleich zu planaren Strukturen

Die Autoren demonstrieren, dass III-V-Nanodraht-Solarzellen im Vergleich zu planaren Solarzellen eine dramatisch bessere Strahlungsresistenz aufweisen, und zeigen dies für mehrere Zellgeometrien und -materialien, einschließlich GaAs und InP. Nanodrahtzellen weisen bei einer Bestrahlung mit 100–350 keV-Protonen und 1 MeV-Elektronen Schädigungsschwellen auf, die etwa 10–40-mal höher sind als bei planaren Solarzellen. Mithilfe von Iradina-Simulationen zeigen die Authoren, dass diese Verbesserung teilweise auf eine Verringerung der Defektdichte in den Drähten zurückzuführen ist, die sich aus ihren nanoskaligen Dimensionen ergibt.

Radiation Tolerant Nanowire Array Solar Cells
P. Espinet-Gonzalez, et al.
ACS Nano xx, xxxxxx (2019)

Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
  • Qualitätssiegel der Stiftung Akkreditierungsrat - System akkreditiert
Zurück zum Seitenanfang